Skip to content

Long-Time Forgotten Heaps of Metal and Rust by Photographer Marc Weinberg

October 5, 2009

image.axdPhotographer Marc Weinberg is stirring up a commotion amongst the automobile enthusiast crowd with his dramatic and captivating “Weathered Wonders” series, featuring beautifully rusted and abandoned cars and trucks. Over the past four years, Marc has spent countless hours haunting junkyards, body shops, and back roads searching for his gorgeous subject matter.

Weinberg has converted desolate and long-time forgotten heaps of metal and rust into an absolutely gorgeous series of photographs. Referring to his subjects, Weinberg says, “They wait silently for me and beckon me to find and capture them so that you, too, can share their beautiful and glorious stories.” Marc has masterfully captured the splendor of these colorful and beautifully-shaped relics through the lens of his camera.

“I started taking photos with a Brownie box camera when I was 11 years old in 1959  — long before I made the responsible decision to become a lawyer”, says Winberg.

I bought my first film SLR in early 1966, a Praktica Mat manufactured by VEB Pentacon Dresden in East Germany. In 1968, I purchased a Mamiya-Sekor 1000 DTL. I used that camera until the 1980’s when I bought my last film SLR, a Pentax SuperProgram. That camera served me until the digital revolution struck. In 1998, I purchased my first digital camera, a Nikon Coolpix 900. That led to a Coolpix 995, a Sony F828, a Canon EOS 350D, two 30D’s, two 40D’s and now to two 50D’s. I haven’t shot a single frame of film since 1998, and I don’t miss it. I shoot most of my photos using two lenses, a Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM and a Canon EF-S 10-22mm  f/3.5-4.5 USM. I also have a Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM for special occasions.

While my photographic tools have changed, photography hasn’t. An f/stop is still an f/stop, a shutter button still is a shutter button, and a focus ring is still a focus ring. And, most importantly, it’s what’s behind the viewfinder that counts the most —  the photographer’s unique eye and vision. That’s what I try to teach my photography students at Frederick Community College.

No matter what the subject, I am, and have always been, a perfectionist, as a lawyer and as a photographer.

View Marc Weinberg’s entire “Weathered Wonders” series in his gallery on DiscoveredArtists.com: http://www.discoveredartists.com/gallery/marclw

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

